Remaining time: 

    Almost Seventeen Thousand Stadium Seats Released For Sale As Chariots Of Fire Transfers to West End

    Following its sell-out run at Hampstead Theatre, Edward Hall's five star production of Chariots Of Fire will open at the Gielgud Theatre on 23 June 2012 where it is currently booking to 10 November 2012.

    Inspired by Collin Welland's original screenplay, award-winning playwright  Mike Bartlett's new adaptation is based on the true story of Eric Liddell and Harold Abrahams’ inspirational tale of hope, honour and belief.

    Designer Miriam Buether will transform the Gielgud Theatre into immersive stadia experience, evoking the spirit of the 1924 Paris Olympic Games. Costumes are by Michael Howells with lighting by Rick Fisher, choreography by Scott Ambler and sound by Paul Groothuis. The production features the legendary music of Vangelis with additional live music and arrangements by Tony Award-winning composer Jason Carr.

    1924, The Paris Olympic Games.  A devout Scottish Christian runs for the glory of God. The son of an immigrant Lithuanian Jew runs to overcome prejudice. Two young track athletes who live for the beautiful purity of running and who prevail in the face of 
    overwhelming odds. The cast, led by Jack Lowden as Eric Liddell and James Mcardle as Harold Abrahams comprises Sam Archer (Athlete), Joe Bannister (Frank), Antonia Bernath (Florence Mackenzie) , Natasha Broomfield (Jennie Liddell), Gareth Charlton (Athlete) , Henry Davis (Athlete), Mark Edel-Hunt (Aubrey Montague), Lloyd Everitt  (Athlete), Daniel Fraser (Athlete), Nickolas Grace  (Master Of Trinity), Leemore 
    Marrett Jr (Athlete), David Newman (Prince of Wales ), Matthew Pearson (Sandy McGrath), Simon Slater (Mr Liddell/Foster), Savannah Stevenson (Sybil Gordon), Paul Tinto (Secretary of the Gilbert and Sullivan Society),  Simon Williams (Master of Caius), Tam Williams (Lord Andrew Lindsay) and Nicholas Woodeson  (Sam Mussabini).
    Jack Lowden's previous roles include Cammy in the Laurence Olivier award-winning Black Watch for the National Theatre of Scotland which was also seen at the Barbican and on tour worldwide. On televisionhis credits include Blue Haven and Being Victor.   
    James Mcardle has previously been seen on stage in The Heart of Robin Hood for the Royal Shakespeare Company, Emperor and Galilean for the National Theatre, A Month in The Country for Chichester Festival Theatre, Spur of The Moment for the Royal Court and Macbeth at the Globe Theatre. His television appearances include The Best Possible Taste, Appropriate Adult and Page Eight. McArdle has also appeared in the film Private Peaceful.
    Mike Bartlett's plays include Love, Love, Love for Paines Plough which is currently enjoying a sell-out run at the Royal Court, Earthquakes in London for Headlong and National Theatre, 13 for the National Theatre, and Cock, Contractions and My Child for the Royal Court. Bartlett is Writer-in-Residence at the National Theatre. His play Cock won the 2010 Olivier award for Outstanding Achievement and Bartlett also won the Writer’s Guild Tinniswood and Imison prizes for Not Talking, a radio play for BBC.
    Edward Hall was appointed the Artistic Director of Hampstead Theatre in 2010 where he has subsequently directed No Naughty Bits, Loyalty and Enlightenment. He is also Artistic Director of Propeller, the all male Shakespeare company who recently toured the hugely successful Richard III and  The Comedy of Errors, and is currently touring 
    Henry V and The Winter’s Tale. His many theatre credits in London and New York include The Deep Blue Seat at the Vaudeville Theatre, Once In A Lifetime, A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To The Forum and Edmond for the National Theatre, A Streetcar Named Desire for the Roundabout Theatre, New York, The Taming of the Shrew for the Old Vic and Rose Rage for the Haymarket Theatre, in the US and on 
    tour internationally.
    Award-winning designer Miriam Buether’s theatre credits include Earthquakes in London for Headlong and the National Theatre, Sucker Punch for the Royal Court, Judgement Day for the Almeida Theatre, In the Red and Brown Water for the Young Vic and The Wonderful World of Dissocia.
    Greek composer Vangelis is best known for his  Academy Award winning score for the film Chariots of Fire, and scores for the films Blade Runner, 1492: Conquest of Paradise and Alexander.
    Additional music is by Tony Award-winning composer Jason Carr whose credits include orchestrations of Sondheim’s Sunday in the Park with George, A Little Night Music and La Cage Aux Folles. Colin Welland’s 1981 Academy Award® winning film of the same name, starred Ian Charleson and Ben Cross as athletes Liddell and
    Abrahams, was directed by Hugh Hudson.   Produced by David Puttnam,Chariots of Fire also won the BAFTA award for Best Film and a further two awards at the Cannes Film Festival.
    Chariots Of Fire is produced in the West End by Hugh Hudson, Barbara Broccoli and Michael G Wilson and Michael Rose Ltd. who present a Hampstead Theatre production based on the Enigma Productions Limited motion picture by arrangement with Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation and Allied Stars S.A. Panama.

    Related news

    London’s Pretty Woman full cast confirmed

    Posted on | By Jade Ali |

    Pretty Woman reopens in the West End next month at its new home at the Savoy Theatre. Performances are set to begin o... Read more

    Major London revival of Stephen Schwartz’s Pippin opens this summer!

    Posted on | By Jade Ali |

    Stephen Schwartz’s musical Pippin is coming to London’s Charing Cross Theatre at the end of this mon... Read more

    London Anything Goes full casting is confirmed!

    Posted on | By Jade Ali |

    Anything Goes is returning to London next month at The Barbican, with performances starting on 23 July and running fo... Read more

    Follow us for instant updates and special offers

    Sign up to our mailing list and be the first to hear about new West End shows and exclusive ticket discounts. We value your privacy. You can unsubscribe at any time. But we hope you won’t!